Tuesday, 15 February 2022

Thomas Edward Tiffin (1868-1952): Architect of Dartford Library

Thomas Edward Tiffin was Dartford Town Surveyor for 31 years. During this time he was responsible for several important building projects, including Dartford Library, which he designed. 

Thomas was born on November 5th 1868 in Sunderland, the second of five children (four boys and one girl) born to William Johnson Tiffin and his wife Margaret Ann Tiffin. The 1871 census shows William (aged 31, an accountant), Margaret (24), William (3), Thomas (2) and Arthur (9 months) Tiffin plus a servant living at 18 Shakespeare Terrace, Bishop Wearmouth, Sunderland. 

Sadly, Thomas’s mother died aged 28 in 1875 (when he was 6) and his father died aged 40 in 1880. In the 1881 census, Thomas is listed as a boarder, aged 12, at North Side School, Staindrop, Teesdale, County Durham. Thomas’s siblings Arthur (10), John (9) and Ada (7) are shown living with their grandparents Thomas (80, a ship owner) and Mary (77) Tiffin, their unmarried aunt Sarah Tiffin (47) and a servant at 7 Park Place West, Sunderland. Both grandparents died in 1884. 

Thomas became a civil engineer. This was his occupation listed in the 1891 census. By then he was a lodger, aged 22, at 9 Foyle St, Sunderland. He married Evelina Turner in 1894 in Sunderland. Thomas was 25 and she was 23. They went on to have seven children, namely Evelyn May (b 1896), Ada Marjorie (b1898), Thomas Edward (b1900), Henrietta Kathleen (b1903), Annie Marguerite Winsome (b1905), Alice Joyce (b1909) and Gordon Mervyn (b1913).

(a more detailed family tree may be found in the “tiffin42” database on RootsWeb’s WorldConnect Project website)

The family moved to West Hartlepool around 1897, where they were living in York Road South in 1901. The census that year shows their household as Thomas (32, a civil engineer and surveyor), Evelina (30), Evelyn (4), Ada (2), Thomas (10 months), a nurse and a general servant.

In 1903, Thomas was appointed Surveyor and Engineer to the Dartford Urban District Council1. Apparently his previous employer asked him to return to his old post soon after his arrival in Dartford. He considered doing so, but was persuaded to stay by an increase in his salary.2

Henrietta, Thomas’s fourth child, died in 1907 aged 4 years 10 months and was buried in East Hill Cemetery. The cemetery records show the address of the family as 27 Summerhill Road, Dartford. Thomas was still living there when he died, although the houses were renumbered in 1937 and the address became 20 Summerhill Road. The house still exists, it is a modest semi-detached property.

Thomas was responsible for public building works in the town. For example, Bank House (now empty and next to the Iceland shop) in Dartford High Street was acquired by the Council in 1909. He was responsible for adapting the building for use as Council Offices and (in 1910) adding a room that was used as the Council Chamber. 

The 1911 census shows Thomas (42), Eveline (14), Ada (12), Thomas (10), Annie (5) and Alice (1) plus a domestic servant living at 27 Summerhill Road (which had eight rooms).

(from Dartford Library Local Studies Collection)

 Thomas was the architect of the Dartford Library building that was constructed with the aid of a grant from the philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. It was built during the early part of the First World War and opened in 1916. An extension was added in 1937. The building is grade II listed and is an attractive feature of the town. After the First World War, Thomas was responsible for creating local housing schemes. He also supervised the construction of Market Street (in 1926) and various road improvement schemes.


Dartford Library (in 2022)

Thomas and Evelina’s daughter Ada married Richard Rowbotham in 1920. The 1921 census shows Thomas, aged 52, a surveyor employed by Dartford Urban District Council, living at 27 Summerhill Road, Dartford. With him were his wife Evelina (50) and his children Evelyn (24), Annie (15), Alice (12) and Gordon (7) as well as a general domestic servant.

The eldest son of Thomas and Evelina, namely Thomas, was a 2nd Lieutenant in the RAF in 1917. After the war, he worked in East Africa from 1919 to 1928 and in Sierra Leone from 1929 to 1932 as a railway engineer. He returned to Dartford in November 1932, went to visit some friends in Sunderland where he became ill and died of pneumonia in December 1932, aged 32 (unmarried)3.

Thomas Tiffin in 1934.

The Mayor of Dartford (Alderman Alfred J Penney) held a dinner at the Royal Victoria and Bull Hotel in 1934 to mark the retirement of Thomas Tiffin (aged 65) after 31 year’s service. Most of Dartford Council attended, together with friends and colleagues. He was presented with a clock from Dartford Council and cigarette case from his colleagues. Alderman Wooler said that he “never dealt with a more conscientious, upright man” than Thomas.2

Annie Tiffin married Frank Byerley in 1937. Frank was a flying officer in the Royal Air Service Volunteer Reserve. He died in 1940 aged 39, failing to return from a flying mission during the Second World War. Alice Tiffin married Claude Penny in 1938 and Gordon Tiffin married Margaret Mugeridge in 1940.

The 1939 Register shows Thomas E Tiffin born 5 Nov 1868, a retired civil engineer and Eveline Tiffin born 6 Aug 1870 living in the village of Willsbridge, Gloucestershire (between Bristol and Bath). Perhaps they had moved away from Dartford to avoid the expected German bombing. 

Thomas returned to Dartford and lived there until his death in 1952 aged 83. He died at 20 Summerhill Road, his home. Thomas's wife died five years later in 1957 aged 87. They are buried in East Hill Cemetery. 


Thomas Tiffin's grave

The gravestones are inscribed as follows :

Kerbstones

In loving memory of / HENRIETTA KATHLEEN dearly beloved daughter of EVELINA & THOMAS EDWARD TIFFIN / who died 27th Sep 1907 aged 4 years 10 months / THOMAS EDWARD TIFFIN, died Dec 5th 1932, aged 32 years

Headstone

T.E.TIFFIN A.M.I.C.E. / 3rd June 1952 / EVELINE TIFFIN / 10th December 1957. 

(A.M.I.C.E. stands for Associate Member of the Institution of Civil Engineers.)

Probate on Thomas’s estate of £993 (equivalent to about £65,000 now4) was granted to his widow Eveline.

Philip Taylor 

  1. Dartford Further Historical Notes by S K Keyes (1938), p801.
  2. Retirement of Mr Tiffin, Kentish Times 11 May 1934
  3. Death of Mr T E Tiffin, Junior, Kentish Times 9 Dec 1932
  4. Calculated with respect to average earnings using the website “Measuring Worth” www.measuringworth.com/ukcompare/

Friday, 9 April 2021

Clement Thomas Youens (1852-1919): Artist

Clement Thomas Youens was an elder brother of Ernest Christopher Youens (1856-1933), whose life is described in an item on this blog. This article about Clement contains information and photos from Christopher, a great grandson of Ernest. Christopher inherited diaries written by Ralph Youens (a brother of Clement) and other Youens family papers. He has donated most of this material to Kent Archives.

Clement was born on October 31st 1852 in Dartford, the seventh of ten children (two girls and eight boys) born to William and Caroline Youens, who married in 1837 and moved to Dartford in about 1845. Their children were Caroline (1839-1919), Ralph (1841-1910), Frank (1844-1910), Jesse (1846-1920), William (1848-1930), Albert Frederick (1850-1931), Clement Thomas (1852-1919), Agnes Maud (1855-1855), Ernest Christopher (1856-1933) and Urban Percival John (1859-1927). William Youens was a basket maker who was born in Fulham, a son of Thomas Youens, also a basket maker. His wife Caroline nee Eves, was born in Chatham.

William Youens, Clement’s father established a business as a basket maker in Dartford. This business became William Youens and Sons and later, Youens Brothers. Not all the sons were involved. In 1858, the eldest child, Caroline (aged 19), with the second and third sons, Frank (14) and Jesse (12), emigrated to Texas with their grandfather, Thomas Youens, who went to live with his daughters who were established there. The eldest son, Ralph did not go. He was slightly handicapped by deafness.

By 1859, William and his family had moved to Tower Cottage. This was a house that William built with his own hands. It was designed in an unusual style that incorporated some architectural features of a church. The road that it was in was later named Tower Road after the cottage. In 1861, the family living in Tower Cottage consisted of William Youens (47, a basket maker), his wife Caroline (44) and their children Ralph (19), William (12), Albert (10), Clement (8), Ernest (4) and Urban (1).

 

1872 Youens Brothers Advert

 In 1867, Clement and his brother William went to stay with their family in Navasota, Texas. Clement did not return to England until 1873. Following his father’s death in 1870, only Ralph seems to have been consistent in keeping the firm of Youens Brothers going. The younger brothers appear to have tired of basket making. Albert went into service and became a butler. He had Urban appointed as a footman. These two were always very close. Ernest dabbled in bee-keeping, stamp dealing and photography, the latter becoming his full-time profession in about 1897.

William Youens (Clement’s brother) married Ellen Elizabeth Bignall in 1874 and went to Texas later that year with Clement.  They travelled on the Steamship “State of Minnesota” from Liverpool to New Orleans, arriving on 21 December 1874. The passenger list shows William (26, a carpenter), Ellen (18, William’s wife) and Clement (22, a carpenter) travelling intermediate class. Clement returned to England in 1879. This is the date of his illustrated diary (in Kent Archives) describing his voyage from Galveston to Liverpool. In it, he records that he prefers to travel by sail, rather than on a steamer.

 In 1881, the Youens family living in Tower Road, Dartford consisted of Caroline (63), Ralph (39), Clement (28) and Ernest (24). The sons were all listed as basket makers and unmarried.

 
Clement c 1890

Clement was a gifted artist and painted many pictures of local scenes and other places (such as in Texas). He also painted several pictures of birds and at least two portraits. As far as we know, he never had any formal artistic training but he moved in artistic circles and knew the noted English Impressionist artist Dorothea Sharp (1874-1955), who was born in Dartford. He sold some of his paintings and did artistic work on commission. Examples of Clement’s paintings (dated from 1884 to 1900) are held at Dartford museum and can be viewed at http://www.bbc.co.uk/arts/yourpaintings/artists/clement-t-youens.

The River Cray near Crayford by Clement T Youens.

The painting above is 14 by 10 inches, painted in oil on artists’ card. Many of Clement’s paintings are 14 x 10, but some are considerably larger and some are miniatures. He used watercolour as well as oil, painted on canvas and wood as well as artists’ card and branched into other decorative arts such as painting over photographs and decorating mirrors.

In 1891, Caroline Youens (73) was living at Tower Cottage, 15 Tower Road with her unmarried sons Ralph (49), Albert (40), Clement (38), and Urban (31). Ralph and Clement were basket makers. Albert and Urban were both described as “artist in natural flowers”. Clement made another journey to Texas, returning in June 1894. Caroline Youens died in August 1894 aged 76.

 
Standing from left: Clement, Ernest, Albert, Urban Youens. Seated from left: Ralph, Caroline, Harold, Marion, Kate Youens (Ernest’s children and wife) c 1894.

The 1901 census shows Clement (aged 48, a basket and picture frame maker) and his brother Ralph (aged 60, a basket maker) living at 15 Tower Road, Dartford. Later that year Clement married Kathleen Annie Redsell. He was aged 49, she was aged 29, a daughter of John and Emma Redsell of Stoneham Farm near Dartford. Clement met Kathleen when painting a picture of the farm. After their marriage they lived at “Rockleigh”, 30 Tower Road and had daughters Marjorie Kathleen in 1904 and Olive Brenda in 1906. 

Throughout her life, Caroline maintained harmony between her sons. She was a good woman of strong character and will. But, after her passing, harmony broke down. Albert and Urban retired from service, returned to live in Tower Cottage and established their floral art business. A coolness developed between them and Ralph which turned into open hostility. They appear to have occupied most of the house, restricting Ralph to his bedroom and workshop. Albert and Ralph were very different people. Ralph was quiet, shy, humble and rather bumbling. Albert was quick witted, quick tempered, aristocratic and, as a butler, used to being obeyed. He did not suffer fools gladly and probably regarded Ralph as such. Urban was devoted to Albert and followed wherever he led. There could, too, have been competition for space as the growing and successful floral art business encroached on the areas reserved for basket making. Clement became Ralph’s mainstay. Although Ralph slept and worked in Tower Cottage, he really lived in Rockleigh, going there for meals, friendship and comfort.

In the first decade of the twentieth century, whilst the floral art business and Ernest’s photography business were becoming increasingly successful, the basket-making business was declining. Ralph was often idle for want of orders. Income became less and left both him and Clement in financial difficulties. Clement and Kathleen eased their problems by taking in a lodger. Jesse, economically the most successful of the brothers, appears to have subsidised them by sending large financial gifts at Christmas. Perhaps Clement devoted a little too much time to artistic pursuits and not enough to understanding basic business skills! As well as loving the visual arts, he was a keen singer who belonged to Chapel and secular choirs.

Clement shared the Liberal political views of his brothers. There are records of his wife working on the Ladies’ committee to support the Liberal candidate at election times. Clement was a regular worshipper at the Congregational Church and participated in many of its events and activities.

Ralph died in 1910. The 1911 census shows Clement (59, a basket and picture frame maker), Kathleen (38), Marjorie (7) and Olive (4), plus a lodger living at 30 Tower Road, Dartford.

Clement with his wife and daughters c 1910

Clement died on May 24th 1919 aged 66. He is buried in East Hill Cemetery. Burial records say that he died at 30 Tower Road (his home address) and give his occupation as picture frame maker and artist. The burial service was conducted by a minister of the Congregational Church.

His gravestone is inscribed:

In / loving memory / of / WILLIAM YOUENS / died June 14, 1870 / Also of RALPH YOUENS / eldest son of above / born May 7, 1841 died Nov 30 1910 / “A life that all the muses decked / with gifts of grace that might express / all comprehensive tenderness / all subtilising intellect.” / Also CLEMENT THOMAS YOUENS / born Oct 31st 1852, died May 24th 1919 / Also KATHLEEN ANNIE / wife of the above / CLEMENT THOMAS YOUENS / born May 13th 1872, died Nov 23rd 1933.

Clement’s gravestone in East Hill Cemetery, Dartford.

The quotation is from Tennyson’s poem In Memoriam. The adjacent grave is that of Clement’s mother (Caroline) and his brothers Albert and Urban. Nearby is the grave of his brother Ernest. Cemetery records show that William Youens (Clement’s father) is actually buried in another grave (which is unmarked) in the cemetery. 

Probate records show that Clement left an estate valued at £352 (equivalent to about £60,000 now). Kathleen (his widow) was the executor of his will.

The 1921 census shows Kathleen Annie Youens, aged 49, still living at 30 Tower Road, Dartford, with her daughters Marjorie (17) and Olive (15) as well as her mother Emma Redsell (74).

Kathleen died on 23 November 1933 aged 61 in Dartford. She was cremated in Lambeth.

Clement’s daughters later moved to a house that Marjorie designed at 29 Devonshire Avenue, Dartford. Marjorie died in 1956 aged 52, Olive in 1993 aged 87. Neither married or had children.

Tuesday, 16 March 2021

Richard Sanham (1815-95): Dartford Builder, Property Owner and Local Politician

Richard Sanham was born in Dartford in 1815. He was the fifth of eleven children (two boys and nine girls) born to James and Martha Sanham. James Sanham was a builder who died in December 1831, aged 49. He was buried1 in what was then Dartford’s burial ground and is now called St Edmund’s Pleasance.

The 1838 Tithe List shows James Sanham (Richard’s elder brother) as the owner of “2 Houses, 11 Cottages, Carpenters Shop, Yards, and Buildings formerly Bucks Malthouse”. These were properties in St James Place, which contained a row of ten houses on the north side of Spital Street, at right angles to it, starting next to the Royal Oak Inn. Only the house adjacent to the Royal Oak survives – with a sign that says “St James Place” on its side. The rest of the houses no longer exist and new houses have been built where they were.

 

1911 map showing the location of St James Place

 The 1841 census shows Martha Sanham, a widow aged 50, living in Spital Street, Dartford with her children James (30, a builder), Richard (25, a builder), Catherine (20), Rosetta (15) and Eliza (10). Ages in this census were rounded down to the nearest 5 years, so the figures quoted are not accurate.

 A poster2 shows Richard Sanham, Spital Street as one of six Constables for the Parish of Dartford, sworn in 13th April 1850. In addition, there are four paid Constables listed, so presumably Richard was unpaid. This was before the establishment of the Kent County Constabulary in 1857.

Notice announcing Constable appointments in 1850

In 1851, the family consisted of Martha (60), James (40), Richard (36) and Rosetta (22) at 10 St James Place, Spital Street. Martha’s occupation is given as “proprietor of houses.” James and Richard are described as builders employing 10 men. There are properties listed with the address “Sanham’s Yard” immediately after 10 St James Place in the 1851 census. This is where the Sanham building business operated from.

Richard’s brother James died in 1855 aged 44, leaving Richard as the only surviving male in the family. His sister Jane, who had married William Macrorie, died in 1859 aged 40.

In 1861, Martha (76, a house proprietor) was living in Spital Street with Richard (46, a builder employing 9 men), Rosetta (30) and Eliza (28) Sanham. The house number is not given, but it was listed next to 10 St James Place. By 1871 Martha (88, income from rent), Richard (55, a builder employing 6 men), Rosetta (38) and Eliza (36) were living at 55 Spital Street. This is quite a large, three storied building on the corner of the entrance to St James Place. It was used as offices by Bailey & Goff, Solicitors between 1935 and 2005. It has recently been refurbished and is still used as offices.

The access road to St James Place with the Royal Oak Inn on the left and 55 Spital Street on the right (2021)

Martha died in 1878 aged 96 and was buried in East Hill Cemetery. In the 1881 census, Richard Sanham (65, a timber and slate merchant) was living at 55 Spital Street with his unmarried sisters Rosetta (51) and Eliza (49). I believe that Rosetta was actually 57 and Eliza was 55.

Rosetta Sanham died in 1891. Richard died (unmarried) in 1895 aged 79 in Dartford. Both were buried in the family tomb in East Hill Cemetery. It is the largest tomb in the cemetery and is on the right as you head north along the main path from the cemetery gate. It is engraved as follows:

West side

Sacred / to the memory of / JANE / the beloved wife of / WILLIAM M[ACRORIE] Esq / of London and daughter of the / late Mr SANHAM of this parish / died September 12th 1859 / aged 40 years / four illegible lines / ELIZABETH / daughter of the late / Mr JAMES SANHAM / who died May 28th 1877 / aged 54 years / Jesus said weep not / MARTHA MARY SANHAM / wife of Mr JAMES SANHAM / of this parish / who died March 2nd 1878, aged 96 years / “The Lord gave and the Lord hath taken / away; blessed be the name of the Lord”

North side

In / affectionate remembrance / of / MARTHA ROSE SANHAM / wife of JAMES MANDY / of Woolwich / who died May 22nd 1880 / in the 31st year of her age / “Thy will be done” / Also / LEONARD / infant son of JAMES and MARTHA R.S. MANDY / died the 15th of July 1880, / aged 4 months / interred at Assington, Suffolk. / “Of such is the kingdom of God”

South side

In affectionate remembrance / of / ROSETTA SANHAM / daughter of the late / JAMES SANHAM / who died April 6th 1891 / in her 60th year / For ….. ….. his beloved / …. ….. …… / In affectionate remembrance / of / RICHARD SANHAM / younger son of the late / JAMES SANHAM / who died Dec 17th 1895 / aged 79 years / At rest with his creator / The memory of the just / is blessed.

East side

In / affectionate remembrance / of / ELIZA SANHAM, / youngest daughter of the late / JAMES SANHAM / who died Feb 20th 1902 / aged 76 years. / “Though lost to sight to memory dear.” 

The Sanham family tomb in East Hill Cemetery (2011)

The Dartford Express, reporting Richard’s death said

“He was a good example of the vigorous and industrious tradesman. Originally a carpenter and undertaker, he paid strict and undivided attention to his business and rose steadily and of latter years was known as a successful builder.”

“It was but a year or so ago since he retired from his business, having amassed by then what, for men of his class of life, would be termed a considerable personalty (ie personal estate). He is said to have been of a generous nature, doing good by stealth to such an extent that numbers will miss him severely this Christmas.”

“Up to a year ago he had been a member of the old Local Board (the town council of Dartford) for between 30 and 40 years, and if not one of the most useful members, he was certainly one of the most conspicuous, and his name figured frequently with Mr J Cann in the discussions of that body.”

 (I believe that undertaker here means someone who undertakes work, not organises funerals.)

 The West Kent Advertiser gave a somewhat less barbed description of his activities on the Local Board

“He was too, a most popular member, always securing an easy return and not infrequently heading the poll. He was certainly not an ardent progressivist and not altogether disciplined to be captious (fond of raising objections), but he was undoubtedly a valuable member of the Board, took an active interest in parish matters, and his opinions carried much weight, being based on practical experience. He was a thoroughly independent and outspoken representative, on which account he attained great popularity in the constituency, especially amongst the working classes, being considered the champion of their interests.”

“Brusque in his manner and secluded in his habits, Mr Sanham’s kindly nature was not generally understood.”

 Probate on Richard’s estate of £12,486 (equivalent to about £5.6M now3) was granted to Eliza Sanham, spinster and John Northall, gentleman. His will, made in 1892, left £100 to John Northall for proving the will, £125 to his nephew James Lawday and £100 to niece Caroline Lawday, both children of his late sister Mary Ann (b 1807). James Sanham Wilson, a son of his late sister Ann (b1814), got £500. Alfred Whatson, a son of his late sister Elizabeth (b1821), received £100. Richards’s friend Joseph Thomas Millbourn (paper mill manager at Hawley, Kent) was left £100. His personal possessions and the income from his residuary estate went to his only surviving sister Eliza. On her death or marriage (she died in 1902), James Lawday received £2,500 plus 1 to 10 St James Place, 53 & 55 Spital Street, 1 to 3 East Hill as well as a shop and 8 cottages in Union Terrace, Crayford. Caroline Lawday got £2,500 plus 48 to 51 Fulwich Rd, 63 & 65 Lowfield St, 120 Dartford Road and 70 to 72 East Hill. James Wilson was left 126 Hythe St and nine cottages in Gas Lane, Dartford. Joseph Millbourn got 161, 165 and 175 Lowfield St. Richard was the owner of a substantial amount of property!

 Eliza Sanham left £500 in her will4 to Holy Trinity Church, Dartford for a memorial to her brothers. It is on the south wall of the nave

Sanham memorial in Holy Trinity Church, Dartford.

Probate records state that Richard Sanham’s will was revoked in 1909, but give no reason.

Philip Taylor © 2021 Email : PhilT42LQS@Yahoo.co.uk

References

1. Gravestone inscriptions for Dartford burial ground are recorded in The History and Antiquities of Dartford by Alfred Dunkin, 1844.

2. Crime and Poverty in Dartford by Peter W Boreham, Alison Arthur and Geoff H Porteus, 1995, page 13.

3. Calculated with respect to average earnings using the website “Measuring Worth” www.measuringworth.com/ukcompare/

4. Death duty record at National Archives, Kew - folio 721 in IR 26/8400.

Monday, 28 December 2020

Albert Cosson (1841-1903) : Butcher and Chairman of Dartford School Board

Albert Cosson was born on January 13th 1841 in Chertsey, Surrey. He was the third of six children (four boys and two girls) born to James and Ann Cosson. The family are shown in the 1851 census living in Guildford St, Chertsey. There was James Cosson, aged 41, a carrier, his wife Ann (46) and their children William (14), Albert (10), James (7), Eliza Ann (3) and Amy (1). All were born in Chertsey apart from Ann who was born in Isleworth. Albert’s father James died in 1853 aged 43, when Albert was 12. 

By 1861, Albert had left home and was learning to be a butcher. The census that year shows him in Twickenham as a butcher’s servant, aged 20 in the household of John M Stedwell, a master butcher.

In 1866, Albert married Isabella King at a church in Holborn, London. He was 25 and she was 21, born in Eydon, Northamptonshire. An 1867 directory of Dartford shows him running a butcher’s shop in Spital Street, Dartford. The 1871 census shows Albert, aged 30, a butcher living at 18 Spital Street with his wife Isabella (26), daughter Helen Isabel (4), George Smewins (25, a butcher’s shopman) and Eleanor Bonner (15, a general domestic servant). 

1871 Advert

Albert used to play cricket for Dartford on the Brent1“whilst not a dashing bat, (he) served the occasional useful position as a stone-waller”. He had a “robust, athletic figure3.

An Act of Parliament was passed in 1870 which required School Boards to be appointed to provide and supervise elementary education. The members were elected every three years and were empowered to levy a rate.2 The Board supervised the construction of schools in St Albans Road (which opened in 1876), Heath Street (1877), West Hill (1891) and York Road (1901). Albert was a trustee of the Wesleyan (Methodist) church and was one of the managers of the school in Kent Rd that they operated (it opened in 1868).  In 1889 Albert wrote the following letter which was published in the Bexleyheath and Bexley Observer (dated 1 June 1889) :

To The Electors

Ladies and Gentlemen

At the request of several friends and townsmen, I have consented to become a candidate for a seat on your School Board. If elected my study will be to secure the utmost efficiency in our Schools, at the same time guarding the expenditure as far as consistent with real economy.

The favour of your influence and vote will be much esteemed

            I am, Ladies and Gentlemen,

                        Yours faithfully,

                        ALBERT COSSON

May 23rd 1889                       

Albert was elected and later became Chairman of Dartford Schools Board. According to his obituary1

..without possessing brilliant gifts, by his sound common sense and assiduous attention to the mastery of details, proved himself a valuable coadjutor in the administration of School Board affairs. His loss will be deeply deplored by his colleagues, with whom he always maintained a most amicable relationship, and whose appreciation was naturally elicited by his sedulous devotion to the duties of his office.


By 1880, Albert had moved to premises at 35 Lowfield Street. He was living there in 1881 when the census lists him as aged 40, a butcher employing one man and one boy. Also at the address were his wife Isabella (36), daughters Helen Isabel (14) and Frances Lottie (9) plus his widowed mother-in-law Hannah King (65, an annuitant). The same people were living at this address in 1891, when Helen’s occupation is given as book keeper. The building was occupied by the New Crystal Kebab House in 2011, next to The Two Brewers pub. 35 Lowfield Street is now (December 2020) the Lowfield Grill (selling kebabs, pizzas and burgers). The pub next door is closed and boarded up.  

35 Lowfield Street (2011)

Helen Cosson (Albert’s eldest daughter) married Richard John Arthur Penaluna in 1891. They had two sons, Albert John (b1892) and Arthur Bruce (b1894). Richard (known as John) was a schoolmaster at West Hill School. 

In 1901, the household at 35 Lowfield Street consisted of Albert (60, a butcher), Isabella (56) and Frances (29, a book keeper). Albert had a severe attack of influenza that year which “impaired his constitution3. He died in 1903 aged 62 and was buried in East Hill Cemetery. His grave is in the west central section of the cemetery, next to the site of the non-conformist mortuary chapel (now demolished) and in an area where other Wesleyans are buried. The inscription reads

In loving / memory of / ALBERT COSSON / born January 13th 1841, / died March 17th 1903. / Victorious through Christ / Erected by his fellow townsmen in / recognition of his long public service / for the good of Dartford, especially / in the cause of elementary education / Also / ISABELLA / wife of ALBERT COSSON / born June 23rd 1844 / died Jan 22nd 1923 / At rest / And FRANCES LOTTIE COSSON / born 29th September 1871 / died 28th December 1949 / I have kept the faith 

The grave of Albert Cosson (in East Hill Cemetery)

An obituary1 read "By all classes our departed townsman was held in good esteem, and the sympathy of the community generally will attend his widow and family in the irreparable loss of a devoted husband and kind and indulgent parent."

Probate on Albert’s estate was granted to his widow Isabella Cosson. The value was £435, equivalent to about £190,000 now4.

The 1921 census shows Isabella Cosson, aged 77, living at 14 Queens Road, Buckhurst Hill, which was the address of her daughter Frances (49), who was a stationer and bookseller. Isabella's other daughter Helen (54) was living at 22 Dartford Road, Dartford with her husband Richard Penaluna (54, head master of West Hill School, Dartford) and son Albert (29, a surveyor).

References

1. Death of Mr Albert Cosson in newspaper (not Dartford Chronicle) clipping dated 21st March 1903 in Dartford Library Local Studies Collection.

2. Dartford Historical Notes by S K Keyes (1933) p596.

3. Death of Mr A Cosson, Dartford Chronicle, 24th March 1903.

4. Calculated with respect to average earnings using the website “Measuring Worth” www.measuringworth.com/ukcompare/

Tuesday, 2 June 2020

The Will of William Cracroft Fooks QC

William Cracroft Fooks QC was a barrister and prominent Dartford citizen. Information about his life is at https://dartfordhistory.blogspot.com/search/label/William%20Cracroft%20Fooks%20QC%20%281812-99%29%20%3A%20Barrister%20at%20Law
He died on August 2nd 1899 at his home, The Bowman’s Lodge, Dartford.

William’s will was signed on January 24th 1897. It appointed his wife Julia and his sons William and Courtenay to be executors. He left his law books to his sons William and Courtenay, who were both barristers. The residue of his property was left on trust for his wife Julia Shears Fooks, for life. When she died, his six surviving children would each receive one seventh of the residue. They were
-          Ellen Cracroft Gibson (b 1838), who had married Frederick George Gibson in 1860
-          William Cracroft Fooks (b 1840)
-          Isabel Georgina Homewood (b 1844), who had married William Henry Homewood in 1867
-          Agnes Edith Holt White (b 1851), who had married Rashleigh Holt White in 1879
-          Julia Letitia Newton (b 1859), who had married Arthur William Newton in 1885
-          Courtenay Cracroft Spurrell (b 1860)
The remaining seventh share was divided equally between the four children of his deceased son, Walter Pemberton Fooks (b 1842).

The value of the estate was initially assessed as £11,513 7s 10d but later re-sworn as £13,341 1s 6d. This is equivalent to about £5,400,000 now (estimated in relation to the wage of the average worker).

Thursday, 28 May 2020

Isabel Georgina Homewood nee Fooks (1844 – 1933) : Intrepid Traveller and Cyclist

Isabel lived in Dartford for most of her childhood and was married in the town. Her autobiography was originally published in 1932 with the title "Recollections of an Octogenarian". It was republished in 2018 entitled “A Victorian Lady Cycles the World, Recollections of an Octogenarian”. Dartford Library has a copy of the 2018 edition. It is a remarkable story of a prolific and intrepid traveller. This item about Isabel’s life contains information from the book. There is an item about the life of Isabel’s father, William Cracroft Fooks (1812-99) on this blog.

William Cracroft Fooks, aged 25, married Letitia Walker at Holy Trinity Church, Dartford in 1838. She had been born in Dartford, was aged 26, lived at Bowman’s Lodge in Dartford and was a daughter of Thomas Walker, a solicitor. William and Letitia went on to have two boys and five girls that survived infancy. They were Ellen Cracroft (b 1838), William Cracroft (b 1840), Walter Pemberton (b 1842), Isabel Georgina (b 1844), Emily Letitia (b 1847), Alice Augusta (b 1849) and Agnes Edith (b 1851).

Isabel was born on January 5th 1844 in Holborn. She was baptised on February 3rd 1844 at St Andrew’s, Holborn. Her parent’s address in the baptism record was 19 Bedford Row. In 1847 Isabel and her family moved from Lonsdale Square, Islington to Bowman’s Lodge on Dartford Heath. This house was on a road (then a track) that is now called Swan Lane.

The 1851 census shows William (aged 36, a barrister in practice) living at Bowman’s Lodge, Dartford with his wife Letitia (36) and children Ellen (12), Isabel (6), Emily (3) and Alice (1). There were also three servants in the household. Isabel’s brothers are not listed at the address because they were at a boarding school in Thame, run by their uncle Thomas Broadley Fooks.

In 1856 William’s daughter Emily died aged 8 and later that year his wife Letitia died aged 44 (when Isabel was aged 12). William married Julia Shears Christy nee Spurrell, on January 1st 1858 at St George the Martyr, Queen Square, Holborn. He was aged 45, Julia was 35. She was a widow, having married Edward Christy in 1847 in Dartford.

Isabel’s autobiography says that she soon fell out with her stepmother, who “boasted that she had never had a bath and had never drunk a glass of water.”

William and Julia later had a daughter, Julia Letitia (b 1859) and a son, Courtenay Cracroft Spurrell (b 1860). The 1861 census shows William (aged 48, a barrister-at-law) and Julia (39) living at Bowman’s Lodge with William’s children Walter (19), Isabel (17), Alice (11), Agnes (9), Julia (2) and Courtenay (1) plus a governess and four house servants. Alice died in 1864 aged 15.

Isabel married William Henry Homewood on February 5th 1867 at Holy Trinity Church in Dartford. He was aged 30, born in Tunstall, Kent. His occupation on the marriage register was “gentleman”. She was aged 23. Later that year Isabel and her husband travelled to Christchurch, New Zealand via Panama (crossing the isthmus by train) and Wellington. They bought the freehold of a farm up the gorge of the River Wiapora, about 50 miles north of Christchurch. It was already fenced and had a good house built of limestone but there was no proper road leading to the house. Isabel became pregnant, but the child did not survive. After 5 years running the farm with her husband, Isabel became unwell with “lung trouble”. She was ill for 3 months in Christchurch, when her doctors told her that she should return to England.

After Isabel and her husband got back to England they went to live with William’s father. The 1881 census shows Isabel (aged 37) and her husband William (45, no profession) living at Ufton Court, Tunstall, Milton, Kent. This was the house of William’s father Edward, a widower aged 78, a farmer of 220 acres employing 8 labourers. Also listed at the address were William’s siblings Mary (aged 40), Charles (37) and Charlotte (35) plus three domestic servants. Tunstall was a village 2 miles south of Sittingbourne, which is now on the outskirts of the town.

Isabel’s husband William Henry Homewood died on 26 September 1884 aged 48 at Ufton Court, Tunstall. Probate records show that Isabel was the executor of his estate (value £112 14s). She left her father-in-law’s house soon after his death and spent a year visiting friends and relations.

Isabel’s autobiography describes various journeys abroad that she made after her husband’s death. They included another trip to New Zealand. In 1887, Isabel went to Tasmania with her father William Cracroft Fooks QC (then aged 75). He went to represent a railway company in a court case against the Tasmanian Government. In 1896 she obtained a passage on a trading steam boat, which called at many ports on route to the Black Sea.

In 1894, Isabel (aged 50) took up cycling.  According to her book she rode over 13,000 miles in her first year, over 12,000 miles in her second year and 10,000 miles in many following years. She would often do sixty miles in a day. These are impressive distances, especially since her bicycle would have had no gears and would have been heavier than modern bikes. Most of her cycling trips were done on her own. She cycled in England, Scotland, Ireland, Germany, France, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Denmark, Sweden and Norway.

In 1897, Isabel began a three months training course at York Road Lying-in Hospital, Lambeth to become a midwife. She passed but did not become a full-time midwife, preferring to cycle and travel.

Isabel’s father died in 1899 leaving £13,341. Under the terms of his will, Isabel inherited one seventh of his estate when her stepmother Julia died in 1900.

Isabel is shown in the 1901 census as living in Ealing at the house of her nephew Edwin V R Fooks aged 29, a physician and surgeon. He was born in New Zealand and was a son of Isabel’s brother Walter Pemberton Fooks, who emigrated there in 1863.

In 1904 (aged 60), Isabel embarked on a cycling tour of Eastern Europe. She travelled through Germany, Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria, Switzerland and France. In 1910, she set out on a world tour which involved cycling in the USA, from there she sailed to Auckland in New Zealand, then cycled to Christchurch. She later toured Australia before returning to the UK. She went on another visit to Australia and New Zealand in 1913. Isabel gave up cycling in 1923, when she had reached her 80th year.

Isabel in 1928, aged 84

Isabel died on November 14 1933 aged 89 in Brentford. Probate records give her address as 2 Greystone Court, The Common, Ealing. Probate was granted to Emily Letitia Worsfold (wife of Edward Worsfold), Henry Verdon Baines solicitor and Isabel Frances Paterson, spinster. The estate had a value of £9,378 2s 7d. Emily Letitia Worsfold nee Fooks (1869-1947) was a daughter of Isabel’s brother Walter Pemberton Fooks. Isabel Frances Paterson (1900-1962) was a grand-daughter of Walter.

Sunday, 1 March 2020

Youens Photos

There is an article https://dartfordhistory.blogspot.com/2018/11/ernest-christopher-youens-1856-1933.html on this blog about the life of Ernest Christopher Youens (1856-1933), a photographer and antiquarian who lived in Dartford. He was part of the enterprising and artistic Youens family. My item was seen by Christopher, a great grandson of Ernest, who contacted me by email. He has kindly sent me the photos below

Ernest Youens with his wife Kate and daughters Marian and Dorothy c 1903

Harold Youens (1888-1911), son of Ernest and Kate Youens c 1903

Ernest’s photography studio at his home, 17 Tower Road

The waiting room at 17 Tower Road

Back row: Clement Youens (b 1852), Jesse Youens (b 1846), Dorothy Youens.
Front row: Marjorie Youens, Katie Youens, Olive Youens (Clement’s wife and daughters), Kate Youens, Harold Youens, Marian Youens, Ernest Youens (b 1856).
 Photo c 1910 (Clement, Jesse and Ernest were brothers)

Christopher has deposited some diaries written by members of the Youens family at the Kent County Archives in Maidstone, He plans to deposit more Youens information and photos with them later this year.